Posted by: Mike Whitmore | November 30, 2009

Mike’s Twitterism’s #2

If you’re like me it’s virtually impossible to keep up with all the tweets from your favorite tweeps.  It’s challenging and here’s a dirty little secret, but there are some people I follow more closely than others. !!??

There, I said it. The cat’s out of the bag and its going to get ugly.

That’s right – I don’t read every tweet from every tweep I follow and I know you don’t either or you would be put into a rehab program for Twitter addicts. This is from first-hand information . . . for a friend.

The ideas here will help you manage and follow your favorites a little better and I’m always looking out for new ideas if you want to comment.

  1. I come across several tweets a day where I want to follow the link at a later time, or perhaps I want to remember to Follow a particular tweep.  Mark this as a Favorite and come back to it later.  You can unmark it when your done or save it to RT whenever you get the urge.  I RT more when my brain isn’t functioning and/or I can’t tweet intelligently.
  2. If you think I’m ignoring you I probably am – so mention me with an @mikewhitmore and you will usually get placed into my Top Follows group in Tweetdeck.  This is the way I separate my main Twitter stream from those Tweeps who interact with me on Twitter and I want to engage with them as well.
  3. I’ve found that Tweetdeck misses tweets from my Top Follows group REGULARLY – not sure why, but Twitter is free, Tweetdeck is free, air is free (for now) so I have a workaround.  On every Twitter user’s page there is an RSS button.  For any Tweeps I don’t want to miss a single tweet I include them in my RSS feed.  And here’s a trick too – you can RSS Follow anyone on Twitter without “following” them. This can be useful for many reasons that I won’t take the time to discuss now on advice from my legal counsel.  A video demonstrating this.
  4. Please forgive me for not doing #ff or #followfriday.  Early on I found that I would lose around 70-80 followers when I would tweet out a #ff.  ??  I don’t know why this happened, but it did on a few occasions, so I stopped doing #ff.  What I do instead is @mention those who have mentioned or RTed me as it’s really the engaging that I look for on Twitter.
  5. Lastly, I’ve said it before and it bears repeating, if your profile pic shows ANY armpit hair I won’t be following you back.  If your profile pic shows the hair on your back I would prefer that you didn’t follow me either.

So thanks for the follows and the interactions!  I’ve met 30+ tweeps in real life and I enjoy that tremendously and I hope these little Twitterisms help!

All the best,

Mike

Responses

  1. Nice advice. Great to learn how others use the Twitter stream.


Leave a Reply

Categories

