Posted by: Mike Whitmore | August 7, 2010

Mike’s Twitterisms

When I first started with Twitter I followed anyone who followed me. I figured I would just be cordial and automatically return the favor and follow back – then I learned – huge mistake …!  I hit some limit upon following 2,000 people and I could not follow anyone until I reached 2,000 followers myself. I realized I had to get picky about who I followed back.

I then thought my tips might be useful for others as well as helping weed out the annoying tweeps. Trust me, they don’t “know who they are” because many aren’t real tweeple.

Anyway, here’s a list of my standard filters on whom I will NOT follow back:

  • There’s no profile pic. It’s like you’re giving me egg on my face. In the previous Twitter version it was like you were giving me the “bird.”
  • There IS a profile pic and you are, in fact, giving me the “bird.” (Really? And you want followers … ?)
  • There IS a profile pic and you’re flashing your armpit hair while, quite brazenly, thinking I’m checking out your abs. I assure you I am not.
  • Your profile pic is of someone who, quite obviously, isn’t you.  Twitter isn’t a costume party and you’re not that hot in real life.
  • You’ve not written a Bio about who you are or your interests.
  • You have a non-descriptive Twitter handle like @bootyspleen (WTH?)
  • You have a too-descriptive Twitter handle like @bootyspleen_xxx (just say no!)
  • You’re a Company Twitter account with zero personalty behind the corporate tweets. I want to engage, not be a recipient of your firm’s constant PR, ads, MLM, or sales blather.
  • You are from Nigeria and you need help to move millions of $$$. (Go bark up someone else’s Twitter stream please.)
  • You have an endless stream of tweets that obnoxiously twitter about:
  1. Having Whiter Teeth
  2. Join the greatest MLM money-making, get-rich-quick, work from home pyramid scheme.
  3. YOUR CAPS LOCK KEY IS STUCK
  4. Anything mentioning the Donald Trump network or his orchestra.
  5. Affiliate Marketing is making you x$’s per day on Twitter. If this is so then stop tweeting and go yachting.
  6. You’ve got hot pics or I should see you on your new web cam (zzzzzzzzzzzzz).
  • You blast your message but don’t interact with others.
  • You have a secret system for 100’s of followers a day and you have like . . . 6.
  • You have no tweets or haven’t tweeted in a month. Why are you here?

I’ll share some of my successes from using Twitter, both personally and professionally, in another blog post.

Here’s why I might follow you back:

  • My quick evaluation of your profile tells me you’re a real person.
  • You engage in conversation with me directly, such as mentioning me in a tweet (!!) @mikewhitmore
  • You RT my tweets.
  • You make me laugh.
  • You tell me that I made you laugh.
  • You give me a sign (a tweet, a pulse, a pic, a video) that you’re a real person.
  • Or, you’re a company and I tweet about your great product or customer service and you respond back!

I want to engage with real people! I’ve met hundreds of tweeps in person and on the phone and have opened new friendships, relationships, business opportunities, more learning and enriched conversations with many.

Twitter is powerful and I look forward to connecting with you real peeps out there!

Mike

Responses

  1. I totally and completely agree! Well put.

  2. interesting. fascinating. Curious George would be a fan.

    • Exactly! He’s my audience. 🙂

  3. I AGREE WITH EVERYTHING YOU SAID. WHICH IS WHY YOU NEED TO VISIT MY HOT NEW WEBCAM PAGE. YOU WILL SEE SOME OF THE HOTTEST PICTURES OF BABES WITH SOME OF THE WHITEST TEETH YOU HAVE EVER SEEN. AND THEY ARE ALL MAKING SIX FIGURES A DAY SIMPLY USING TWITTER. HOW DO THEY DO THIS? IT’S A LITTLE KNOW SECRET I LEARNED FROM DONALD TRUMP.

    Great Stuff Mike!
    Scott.

    • You make me laugh every time!

  4. You know, I agree with you but something holds me back. There are a lot of people who say oh, you shouldn’t twitter this or that because it’s boring. You should keep it about work or whatever your speciality is. I tend to tweet fewer things because of this line of argument. I mean, it is true that most of what we do all day long is, in the ensemble, boring. What’s your philo on that?

    • I say “it depends” and that dependency comes from your social media strategy as to “why” you’re tweeting. I’m a unique case (as we all are) as I tweet as the executive of a firm that offers Social Media consulting as a smaller part of our business strategy consulting practice. I got into Twitter as an experiment and really wanted to engage with people on a number of topics. If I only tweeted work-related posts or tweets mentioning Fresh Consulting it would bore most people (including myself). You’ll find I tweet about work items, sure, but also personal things all the time and I’ve built up a respectable following just being me. It works for me, but it may not work for everyone. Hence, my answer that it depends… Happy to connect sometime to discuss if you like.

  5. What a great article. I admit I am not as good at tweeting as I’d like to be…Twitter is the one social media tool that has taken me awhile to get. I don’t want to be one of those people posting just any content or things that people don’t care about.

    Your article was helpful. I have only met two people in person off of Twitter, but I’m hoping to meet more.

    Cheers!

    Helen

  6. Great twit-equette. My brother in law is on staff at BSA. Send me an E-mail. Thanks Mike

  7. This is helpful guidance. The parts about engaging and interesting in my mind outweigh the non-descriptive stuff. If you use these as hard and fast rules, you wouldn’t find people like @Iconic88, who just received a top 10 recommendation from U-Tweet.it http://om.ly/jAjg and you wouldn’t friend me. Sheesh! I’m a little bit funny and engaging. 🙂

    Agree completely on MLM, caps lock, teeth whitening, etc. 🙂

    I’m not public about who I am, but I’m engaging and honest, I like to think.

    • Lol – well, I do make exceptions to these rules once in a while as I like to connect with all sorts. It’s really the armpit hair rule that I won’t waiver on.

  8. and that, sir… is a great plan. Adding that to my list 🙂

  9. Great post Mike! I am also particular about who I follow back and you’ve provided a nice, concise checklist to use in order to have maximum quality communication with your followers!

    Sharon Mostyn
    @sharonmostyn

  10. Awesome post, Mike! And, so true! I am one of those lucky 40 who have gotten to meet with you because of Twitter and that was definitely a plus! When you write that list about how Twitter has helped you personally and professionally, I would LOVE to RT it! I will be writing one of those soon myself! I just cant believe how many friends, community members and even clients have come out of this amazing tool!

  11. […] that I pick up and drop followers every day as I don’t follow-back everyone who follows me (see Mike’s Twitterism’s in this blog) and so some will drop off naturally if I don’t follow back.  But the net effect […]

  12. It looks like an older post. I just happened to stumble, oops, I mean twitter upon it now 🙂
    Good stuff! I should probably “borrow” and use them as my rules as well.

    Oh, and yeah, thanks.

    • It is an older entry, but I find I modify it a little from time to time. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and laughs with me too!

  13. […] Read: Mike’s Twitterisms […]

  14. […] Read: Mike’s Twitterisms […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

